Why is Switzerland abbreviated SUI?

Switzerland is abbreviated SUI because its name in French is “Suisse”. SUI are the first three letters of “Suisse” and French is an official language. Switzerland has four official languages: German, French, Italian (all since 1848) and Romansh (since 1938). Switzerland in German is “Schweiz”, in Italian “Svizzera” and in Romansh “Svizra”. In sports, you … Read more