Why is Switzerland abbreviated SUI?

Switzerland is abbreviated SUI because its name in French is “Suisse”. SUI are the first three letters of “Suisse” and French is an official language.

Switzerland has four official languages: German, French, Italian (all since 1848) and Romansh (since 1938).

Switzerland in German is “Schweiz”, in Italian “Svizzera” and in Romansh “Svizra”.

In sports, you will find different ways of abbreviating the word Switzerland. You might also find “SWI”, based on its English name.

In some contexts, CH is used for Switzerland. It’s a Latin acronym and stands for “Confoederatio Helvetica”, which has the advantage of being neutral among the other official languages.

Leave a Comment